Rocky Road

Usually when I feel like baking, I open my baking cupboard and decide what to make based on the ingredients I have in.  I’d bought some glace cherries from Approved Food recently, so I decided to make Rocky Road.

Here’s how I did it!

Ingredients

  • 5oz margarine/butter
  • Two 100g bars of Tesco Value plain chocolate
  • 2 1/2 oz syrup
  • a few drops of vanilla essence

All of the above were measured into a large pan and melted over a gentle heat.

Then I added a small tub (100g) of glace cherries, chopped in half, 50g mini marshmallows, chopped in half, and 250g of biscuits that I’d crushed with a rolling pin – you can use any kind of rich tea or digestive biscuit.  I used Glutafin biscuits on this occasion.  I added these ingredients straight to the pan (removed from the heat) to save washing up!

I mixed everything together until combined, then spooned into a baking tray lined with tin foil.  I left this to set in the fridge for a couple of hours then cut up into squares.

Sometimes I add an extra layer of melted chocolate as a topping, but as I was a bit short on chocolate I gave that a miss on this occasion.

Now I have to try to stop myself from eating a piece of this from the fridge each time I go into the kitchen!

Best Wishes
Debbie

Leave a comment